Will YOU take up this challenge?

There are so many things that happen on a day-to-day basis in our lives that have impacts on us. Some bring about positive changes while others have a rather negative impact. Some events give us hope and comfort while other events in our lives make us weep and leave us wondering why this happened to us.

Ever since I can remember, me and my family – we have always been on this constant climb trying to overcome hardships and obstacles in life. Things happen, sometimes one right after  the other, that have the power to make any person feel hopeless. But even in the midst of the worst darkness, I have been taught to be happy.

As you may know, young children are quite naive and their thoughts are pure and straightforward. It was when I was in such a very young, naive age that I came across the story of Job, of how he kept looking to God even though he lost basically EVERYTHING a man can lose – his friends, family, health, wealth, everything! And that story changed my outlook about life.

Now, when bad things happen that scare me to death, my heart is set to go to its default option: “faith”. Sure, when something terrifying happens I get scared and panic at first. But it’s only momentary. There is a sense of peace that overcomes all fear that nothing in the world can offer. It is there with you no matter where you are, no matter what happens to you. 

The biggest challenge is letting go in the face of fear. This means letting go of your thoughts and anxieties about what might happen, but it also means that you have to let go of your own expectations of the future. In our mind, we may have an idea of what the perfect future is like, but that may not always be God’s plan.

True happiness comes about when we learn to accept each and every thing happening in our life as it comes. It’s about letting good things AND bad things happen, with the ultimate faith that in the end, God’s will is what is happening. He knows best. The secret to true happiness is accepting God’s will in your life with all the courage you can muster, and this is also the ultimate test of your faith.

I was inspired to write this post because of a recent incident that quite shook me and my family: a really bad car accident. It completely destroyed our car, but my dad who was involved in it, escaped with minor pains and bruises, thanks to the miraculous power of God. While the doors of the car got jammed, somehow my dad’s door got unlocked even though the hit was right to the side of it. There had been a fire starting inside the car, but it went away on its own. Or, may I say, God intervened.

However minor it may seem to the world, I cannot help but accept that God is working miracles even in the smallest ways in our lives every day. The fact that we live to take a breath every morning is in itself a miracle, in my eyes at least. With this I would like to thank the Lord for His everlasting mercy and also I would like to ask YOU to take up this challenge.

Next time you have to face a situation of fear, of worry, of pain, where you lose or are on the verge of losing everything you have, will YOU step up to the challenge and be happy? Will you let go of your fears?

Will you rejoice in the Lord?

It may be hard, but trust me, it’s worth it.

God bless you all.

With deep love,

Stenila Simon

Leave a Reply

