When God doesn’t speak to you…

When I was 9 years old, one Sunday morning my father read to us the scripture about God speaking to Moses through the fiery bush. It was the first time I had ever encountered that story, and I still remember how much I was captivated by the fact that God really spoke to him, how he, as a human, heard the actual voice of God.

I still remember wondering if it would be that easy for me or others to hear God’s voice as well. So I tried praying and praying and praying. I said “God, I WANT to hear Your voice!! Just like the people in the Bible” I knew the word of God would never lie, so all I wanted to know was this:

WHY is it that God would speak to man directly back then, but not anymore? When did He draw the line and why? I was so confused. I tried praying over and over again. After a while, I gave up. I thought to myself that God had probably heard my prayer, and would answer it someday or the other.

So I waited. Years. No thundering voice came ringing into my ears like I had wished. After some time I forgot about my childish wishes. But now that I think about it, God certainly has granted and continues to grant my “childish” wish even today, whether or not I realize it.

The truth is, He does try to speak to us even in this day. Sometimes we are so busy occupied in our own worldly pursuits, that He ends up not speaking to us. I remember that when I was back in India, I would spend every single night with my family just laying back on chairs outside, staring at the open night sky filled with stars. We wouldn’t say much to each other, but we would just simply sit there and quietly admire the beauty of it all, and that was when I would start thinking about God and His magnificent creation.

Just spending some time alone outside among God’s glorious creations can be enough for you to hear His voice. I remember, as I sat there, sometimes things would come to my heart that I had never thought about before. Thoughts and questions about God that I had never before even wondered. And I would sit there, staring at the stars, and keep wondering. Then I would be given answers. Thoughts start to form in your heart. Suddenly things make sense, and you know that it’s not because of your own intelligence. Sometimes you can tell that God is trying to make you see something, other times, you just sit there wondering.

You know what I have learned? Even today, God is capable of speaking to you, even if through your own heart. Jesus Christ resides in the heart of every believer who has given Him the authority to take over them.

That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love,

May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;

And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.” (Ephesians 3:17-19)

If you KNOW you have given your whole life to His will, He resides inside of you. And since He resides inside of you now, He  no longer has to thunder from the heavens to make His voice heard. He’ll speak to whoever takes the time to listen.

Sometimes when I remember my childhood wishes, I lay in bed, very quiet and still, wondering if I can still hear Him. Wondering if new thoughts will continue to form in my mind. Wondering if I will be able to find answers.

And as I lay there quiet and still, if I have faith, I am sometimes taken to a whole different world of thoughts. Godly thoughts. It is possible sometimes, if you believe. You start to see connections form. You start to see how things in the Bible make sense with things in the real life.

You start to grow in curiosity about the hidden wonders of God. On the rare occasions this happens, I love it because I never know when I stopped thinking and fell asleep, because as soon as I sleep I start to see all those thoughts manifest into reality in my dreams.

Similarly, if I am on a trip, I like to look out the window and stare at the blue sky above. Any moment of peace and quiet is a good time to be still and wish to hear His thoughts.

Even in prayer, sometimes it is great to praise Him as loud as you can and make all the joyful music you want, but sometimes it is also wise to just sit still and focus your thoughts on Him and His presence. He is present there, but if you can pray in quiet and really try to listen to Him, it will happen. He will begin to touch your heart. You will break down in tears once you are wrapped in His true, comforting presence. You will feel every weight lifted off your shoulders. You will forget where you are and what you’re doing, and all that matters in the whole world at that moment will be HIM.

Believe me, people think that God has forgotten of humanity. We think that He doesn’t care anymore, when in fact the opposite is true.

A heart that seeks Him will be able to find Him. You cannot find a pure diamond unless you make the effort to look for it or dig for it. Make the effort to find Him and hear His voice, and He will begin to speak to you.

Sounds childish and impossible? Maybe, but if you have experienced it like I have, you will know what I’m talking about is very real. God speaking to your heart is one of those humbling times when you realize He does love you for sure, that He is real, and that He is always ready to use any chance to grow closer to you, if you choose to grow closer to Him.

 “Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you.” (James 4:8)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

