Test Anxiety & Heaven (?)

Any student or family member/friend of a student will know exactly what I mean when I mention test anxiety.

The past two weeks, I had been under the stress of college exams. These final exams carried such weight that they had the power to determine what final grade I would make for those classes. So of course I felt anxious. But this whole experience taught me something fundamental about Christianity, believe it or not!

During finals week I constantly felt overwhelmed and overworked to the limit. I was forced to sacrifice my sleep and utilize every last minute to study my best, just as all my peers. Why? Because college exams can be VERY difficult. No matter how much you prepare, there is always the chance that you might not know how to answer certain questions or that you may even fail because the one chapter you did not get to study was the one chapter they focused the exam on.

So as I was pushing my mind and body to the limits studying for these exams, I felt exhausted and wanted to give up and rest so many times. But I had the willpower to keep pushing on, because of one thing that gave me so much hope:

Right after final exams, I would be free to leave my campus and GO HOME!!!

For all of us that stay on campus in dorms/residence halls, the biggest excitement of finishing finals week comes from knowing that we will finally be able to move out of our rooms and back to our homes where we feel most at rest, where we are treated as kings and queens of our own realms by our loved ones, the place of freedom and rest.

I felt a reassurance and peace knowing that rest awaited me at the end of the exams, no matter how good or bad the exams would be. This peace allowed me to keep my calm and keep smiling throughout the whole process.

And thinking about this during my very last exam, I realized this is exactly what pushes us to keep going as Christians.

See, we children of God are kind of similar to college students. We are living the stressful life in “college”, in a constant “finals” week. We are put through trials and tests that are much too hard sometimes. We work ourselves to the point of exhaustion, but we know we cannot give up.

We know we must keep going. Why? Because at the very end, we get to leave this lonely and troubling place, and GO HOME!!! We know that at the very end, we will pack up and leave to our place of rest, to the hands of our Father. No matter how good or bad the trials were, no matter how tired we are, no matter how stressful this life is, we know we can hope for rest in heaven someday.

It is this faith and hope that keeps us going every single day. It helps us smile throughout the sorrows and despair. It reassures us that it is worth it to suffer in this life as long as we end up getting to go home.

“But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.” (1 Corinthians 2:9)

new_jerusalem2_pic

2 thoughts on “Test Anxiety & Heaven (?)

Leave a Reply

