Welcoming 2017 – Sharing Uplifting thoughts

Let’s reflect and hope together, shall we? We are finally done with 2016, and the world is looking forward to newer and better things to come in 2017. Some people may look back at 2016 and see a train wreck, while others may see a better picture. I know that for me personally, 2016 was a constant struggle sprinkled with small moments of happiness with friends and family, but most importantly, 2016 was a year of refocusing on my REAL goal in life. I had focused so much on my academic goals that I somewhere had started to forget or neglect my spiritual goals, but this year I feel like I am finally able to see the big picture!

There are so many things I am thankful for, so many things that I have in my life that I don’t deserve, and I have no one but God to thank for that. The doors He opens can never be closed, and at the same time the doors He chooses to close cannot be opened by anyone else.

There were some things that I lost in the past year, some aims that didn’t work out, but I don’t care anymore, because I know I tried my best towards every single goal I had, and if God decides something doesn’t belong, He’ll take those pieces of the puzzle away Himself. I trust in His judgement!

I learned this past year that sometimes you need to pull yourself up and encourage yourself. If you don’t find the encouragement you need in other people, always remember that with a few minutes of silent prayer each day, opening up your heart to God, you will find yourself constantly being encouraged and cheered on by that voice inside, and you’ll know that God is always on your side.

Always take the time to remember those less fortunate than you. If life ever seems to become too difficult, just remember that somewhere out there, someone else is crying themselves to sleep for totally different reasons. We all go through hardships in life, and being thankful for our basic comforts that are luxuries to other people will make you a much more grateful person. It will encourage you to show kindness even when your heart is troubled.

Be kind. Remember to try your best to make others smile. If you’re having a bad day, try to make someone else happy. Their smile could fill your heart with the warmth that you needed. Remember that God’s love is sacrificial and unconditional, and try your best to share that love with others.

Above all, stay focused. Stay focused on your ultimate goals. Don’t let the immediate troubles of the world define the way you live your life. Money, fame, comfort, success – none of that really matters in the end, and this knowledge will help you deal with the growing stresses of life much better. Keep your ultimate destination in the back of your head, and work towards it.

As Christians, we are each called to a mission of our own, and nothing but eager prayer and patient labor can make you realize and manifest this destiny God has for you.

Finally, I would like to share a video that I put together for the hope and comfort of Christians. I hope you all enjoy it, and here’s to a beautiful 2017!!!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR, and God bless y’all!

-Stenila Simon

 

Leave a Reply

