So I lost my dad…

Well I haven’t returned to this blog in a LONG time. So much has changed for me in the past few years, especially in 2022. And believe it or not, I’ve been drafting this post for about a year now trying to process things. I don’t even know if any of my old subscribers will read this update but seeing there are still active readers hanging around, I figured I’d resurrect this blog with an update post!

I lost my father in 2022. He passed away literally a week after he turned 80 years old. This timing reminded me of the verse:

“Our days may come to seventy years, or eighty, if our strength endures; yet the best of them are but trouble and sorrow, for they quickly pass, and we fly away.”

Psalms 90:10

Losing him so unexpectedly truly affected me, to be honest. He was my spiritual guidance throughout my life. I grew up knowing God because of him, and followed his advice in all matters. He sparked in me a love for Jesus Christ early on, inspired me with his faith and steadfast pursuit of Christ, and showed me an incredible example of how to live for Him. I was able to grow up being part of his ministry, hearing him preach, learning from him daily, watching him pray for the healing of sick people and casting out demons in the name of Jesus Christ, and most of all, loving and forgiving others the way Christ taught. His life was an amazing example for me to grow up learning from, and for this I am so incredibly grateful.

But losing him caused me immense sorrow. I had my questions to ask God. My faith took a toll. Given how healthy and active my father was up until that point compared to his peers of the same age, it truly blindsided us when he was suddenly on the doorstep of death.

As a child, I had learned about Job and his steadfast faith, how even in the worst of sufferings, emotionally, physically, and spiritually, he never once turned against God. Having learned of him, I had always wondered if I would receive an opportunity to show myself faithful to God no matter the circumstance. I had wondered if the faith I thought I had was truly unbreakable in the face of immense sorrows and trials. Well, boy did life (God, really) give me more opportunities for this than I could ask for! And my dad’s passing was the biggest yet. As I watched my dad slip away to eternity with a smile on his face, I felt the mockery of voices telling me “there goes your faith” but louder I said within my heart, “no, I am clinging onto Jesus Christ no matter what happens”. All this while grieving with a broken heart. All this while remembering the countless ways in which Christ had showed up and saved us in the past. All the while my sweet mother told me words that gave me a new hope: She said, “let your dad go rest with the Lord honey, he has endured through so much in life”….

That was when I remembered that mortality was real and inevitable, and that there lied a greater hope on the other side of it. After all father had spent every moment of his life talking about Christ and of his earnest desire to go be with Him. Just as Paul said,

“For in this we groan, earnestly desiring to be clothed upon with our house which is from heaven”…..

“We are confident, I say, and willing rather to be absent from the body, and to be present with the Lord.”

2 Corinthians 5:2,8

And so through the immense grief, through the sorrow of losing my rock, through the regrets of not having more time together because of us being far apart while he was alive – through all that, my mother and I trusted God to guide us through. We felt like God was asking us to rely on Him completely. God was reminding us that He had never forsaken us in the past, and He never would.

The fact is that we must all die; it is one of the only certainties granted to mankind. After all, the events in the garden of Eden guaranteed this curse into our lives. However, we know that there is soon coming a glorious day when Jesus Christ returns and we reunite with our loved ones that day! If Christ’s return happens to delay (which, given the state of the world right now, I highly doubt), then we will reunite at death! After all, life on earth is but a fleeting moment compared to the rest of unending eternity that we get to spend with Christ and our loved ones in heaven and on the new earth! (Read the last couple of chapters of Revelation)

I say, those who have died in Christ are so lucky. How lucky they are to be able to witness the face of Jesus Christ, to dwell with Him, to have fellowship with Him and all past believers, to be at peace and separated from all physical and emotional ailments that come with life on earth. To be free from all burdens must be such a blessing, and a blessing I hope to attain someday when my race is over!

So whether by death or by rapture, my mom and I press forward in excitement for the very day that we, too, will get to witness our beloved Christ in all His glory, and stand by my father’s side while doing so!

3 comments

  1. I lost my mother 7 months back to cancer. She was 54. God was gracious enough to heal her the first time she was diagnosed with cancer. But it came back again and things went downhill pretty fast. Medicines did not have any effect at all but I believed she would be healed. After her passing, i couldn’t pray for a long time. I think I blamed God or lost trust in Him. I still haven’t recovered fully and I have a hard time accepting that his plans are better than mine. I was very close to her and I miss her very much. I couldn’t even walk seeing the bed that she used for a long while. I did not even get time to process her passing or to cry out my heart. I started running for her death certificate the next day of her funeral and other government proceedings as she was a government employee. Soon my elder sister got married and I was busy with it. After all the busyness was done with, I was hit hard emotionally. I still am. I was never really an emotional person but, I guess I changed. It was her dream to see my sister getting married. I wish she could have seen that while she was still healthy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matthew,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. First of all, my deepest condolences for the loss of your mother. The scar caused by the loss of someone you love, especially someone close like your mother or father, will never disappear, it will always sting. But as time passes, that sting becomes less frequent, but it’s still there. I just want you to know that I am praying for you, for God to provide you with comfort, and to make His presence known to you. I understand that feeling of not being able to pray. My father was also healed of his heart disease 12 years prior, and he had lived purely by faith and prayer. He was incredibly healthy since then; God truly had extended his lifespan back then. But this time God’s time for him had come. I felt like all my prayers fell on deaf ears this time around. BUT, my father had accepted that this was probably his time to go. He had many signs from God that it was time to prepare to meet the Lord, and so, while my mom and I kept wanting to prolong his life, he kept preparing to go.

      While it may be incredibly difficult to see it while you are going through this, I want you to know that God sees you and God did not take her before her time; He has a time for every single person on earth. We as children may never understand the depth of the relationship between our parents and God, what they ask for or what they discuss, etc. So your mother is probably at her happiest right now being able to see God face to face, a joy we won’t understand until we get there ourselves one day.

      When your faith gets challenged, remember the times your prayers did get answered, remember how wonderful it was to experience God’s miracle back then. What happened right now doesn’t mean that the miracle back then didn’t happen.

      The Psalmist says: “Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints.” (Psalms 116:15) God is waiting eagerly to see us and show us the joys of the place He has prepared for our dwelling, to live in fellowship with us again.

      Listen, that’s our final destination. We’re all going to get there some day and that’s when life truly does begin. This is just a place that we visit temporarily on our way to get back to our Creator. While it’s difficult to bear the separation caused by loss, there will come a day when all that feels like nothing because now we have an ETERNITY to spend with our loved ones and with God in unison. So, I will continue to pray for you, I hope that you find the peace and comfort of God, and let us all press on to finish our race until we get back home!

      God bless you,

      -Stenila Simon

      Like

      • Sorry for the late reply. Thank you for the encouragement and for remembering me in prayers. May God bless you abundantly.

        Like

Leave a comment